In the Old Testament, God is called seven different names that mark his distinctiveness and power. The Old Testament fulfills its prophecies about Jesus in ways that call back to these seven names and bring up parallel themes that give us clues into who God is.

Jehovah-Nissi: God Is My Refuge

This name first appears in Exodus 17:11 after Moses helped bring Israel to victory. In the New Testament, Paul references this victory and attributes it to Jesus.

Jehovah-Jireh: God Will Provide 

In the Old Testament, God is referred to as Jehovah-Jireh (God will provide) in Genesis:22:13-14. In the New Testament, we learn Christ has a divine power to give us “everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of Him.”

Jehovah Rapha: God Heals 

References to Jehovah Rapha or the God that heals can be found in Exodus 15:26. We learn of Jesus healing the sick across towns and villages in Matthew 9:35. Jesus also heals our spirits and gives us eternal life by dying on the cross (1 Peter 2:24).

Jehovah-Shalom: God Our Peace 

In Judges 6:24, Gideon built an altar to the Lord after he was told: “peace be unto thee.” In this verse, God is called Jehovah-Shalom (“God our peace”). Isiah prophesied the savior’s birth calling Jesus “the Prince of Peace.” Jesus also told his followers “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you” (John 14:27).

Jehovah-Raah: God Our Way and Shepherd

Jehovah-Raah appears in Psalm 23:1 where we learn that the Lord is our Shepherd. Jesus calls himself the Good Shepherd that lays down his life for his sheep in John 10:11

Jehovah Tsidkenu: God of Righteousness

There are references to God as a God of Righteousness in Psalm 23:3 and Jeremiah 23:6. In the New Testament, Jesus changed what we understand as righteousness. Now our righteousness is rooted not in human laws but our faith (Philippians 3:9).

Jehovah-Shammah: God Is Ever-Present

God was first referenced as Jehovah-Shammah in Ezekiel. In the New Testament, we learn that Jesus is the Light of the World.